Best Photos of 2010: Trains “Part Two”

Continued from part one, this blog will include my favorite train photos from the second half of the year.

In May, myself and a couple others from the Mountain State Railroad and Logging Historical Association were approached by a member of the Collins P Huntington Historical Society in Huntington, WV  with the idea of putting on a night shoot featuring the society’s C&O 2-6-6-2 steam locomotive. The challenging part of this shoot was that the large locomotive sits in a park with a fence running right along one side of the engine. With the use of actors, an industrial smoke machine and creative lighting we were able to bring this locomotive back to life for one evening, confusing several locals during the process.

Coming into the shoot I had a few ideas of scenes I would like to shoot. I had looked through one of O’ Winston Links books and found a similar photo which became the inspiration for the image above. It ended up being my favorite image from the shoot.

With the use of back lighting I was able to get this shot of an actor standing infront of the engine.

Canon 7D, 70-200, ISO 100, F13, 1/15

Recently restored Southern 154 pulls a freight train during the Three River Rambler’s Railfan Weekend.

While Southern 154 paused I noticed some interesting light and crew members working around the engine.

Western Maryland Shay 6 travels up the steep grade as it approaches Bald Knob on the Cass Scenic Railroad. I liked the look of the open car on the front of the train, it added a nice human element.

Canon 7D, 10-22, ISO 100, F11, 1/4

Taking advantage of the open car at the front of the train, which is rarely used, I was able to capture this dramatic shot of Western Maryland Shay 6. By slowing down my shutter speed I was able to make this already interesting angle even better.

Canon 7D, 10-22, ISO 1000, F6, 1/125

I am always trying to bring something new to my cab shots. Instead of using a flash to illuminate the subject, I use the glow from the intense fire which produces and amazing orange glow.

Canon 7D, 24-105, ISO 320, F5, 1/25

Welder Dave works on the gears of one of the Shay locomotives at the Cass Shop.

About 20 or so miles away from Cass is a small tourist line with another type of logging locomotive, a Climax. Regretfully I do not shoot this very scenic line as much as I should. Since the line runs mostly along the Greenbrier River I always try to look for ways to incorporate it into a shot.

Canon 7D, 24-105, ISO 100, F13, 1/10

For this image I slowed my shutter speed down which made an average shot into a much more pleasing shot.

While riding the New River Train I was able to get this nice view of the old passenger cars and they sped through the New River Gorge. Although the leaves did not look the best, the use of back lighting brought out much more color in the foliage.

This concludes my favorite train photos of 2010. I am looking forward to what is already looking like a busy 2011.

One thought on “Best Photos of 2010: Trains “Part Two”

  1. Walter,
    Train’s -2 looks great, nice composition.
    You have a nice technique to show action that makes one feel the movement, by looking at a still photo…………Nice.

Leave a Reply

