Best Photos of 2010: NASCAR

This is my first of four best of photo blogs for 2010. Over the next couple of weeks, I will include my best photos of Trains, Space Flight, and Landscapes, so please subscribe and check back!

Last year I was able to cover my first NASCAR race for NASCAR Illustrated/SceneDaily.com, it was a wild experience and definitely took a lot of getting used to. I would be lying if I said I was not nervous…there was just so much to take in and to look out for. Fast forward to 2010 and I was covering my second race, and this time it was Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway, which includes “The Great American Race”,  the Daytona 500.

The biggest story of this year’s Daytona Speedweeks was open-wheel racer Danica Patrick’s entrance into the world of stock cars. This image was shot as she headed out onto the track for a practice run.

Danica Patrick prepares for a practice session.

One of the races I really look forward to during Speedweeks is the ARCA race, mainly because it is usually a wreck fest. Throughout most of the race I didn’t see much action on the backstretch—that is, until the closing laps when Barry Fitzgerald got turned and began barrel rolling directly in front of me

If you could describe the 2010 Daytona 500 in two words, they would be “Pot Hole”.  The race was delayed for several hours due to a hole that formed at the entrance of turn #2. This event prompted the speedway to repave the entire 2.5 mile track. The delay pushed the race into the evening hours which provided some pretty interesting light on the cars as they raced down the superstretch.

The field races in turn three during the closing laps of the Daytona 500.

After the Daytona 500 ended I would have to wait until July for my next race which was once again at Daytona. On this weekend Dale Earnhardt Jr. would be driving the #3 car, made famous by his father, in the Nationwide Series race. This was the big story of the weekend so I tried to get as many photos of the special paint scheme as I could. This photo was shot as the car was being rolled out onto pit road for qualifying.

 

During races I often get bored during caution periods, during this time I always try to look for different scenes around me as sometimes the best photos are not of the track. This photo was shot as the sun was setting during the Nationwide race.

Dale Earnhardt Jr., team owner Richard Childress and pit crew pose in victory lane after winning the race. This was my first time ever in victory lane and with Dale Jr. being my favorite driver I could not think of a better way to spend it!

Cars sit on pit road prior to the Coke Zero 400.

My third and final race weekend of the year was at Richmond International Raceway. This was my first visit to the track and I was really looking forward to it. Kasey Kahne stands in his garage stall during a Friday practice session.

Carl Edwards prepares for the start of practice.

Jeff Gordon and Jeff Burton race side by side during the Air Guard 400.

The crew from Lane Construction paves the steep 31 degree high-banks of the massive 2.5 mile Daytona International Speedway.

This concludes my Best of 2010 NASCAR photos. I am really looking forward to the start of the 2011 race season so I can continue to improve my race coverage!

One thought on “Best Photos of 2010: NASCAR

  1. Walter,
    I like this, it reflects the natural talent you have in photography. You have a rare gift, and it is exemplified in your images on this Blog.
    Keep up the good work, an continue sharpening those talents…………..

Leave a Reply

